Area: 10 498 000 km²
Population: 739 165 030
Number of countries: 46 + 7 dependent territories


Europe lies on the western part of the Eurasian continent. It is located in the northern hemisphere of the globe.

The border between Europe and Asia follows the ridge of the Ural Mountains, the Caspian Sea, the Sea of Marmara, the Aegean Sea and the Black Sea. Besides the East, Europe is surrounded by oceans and seas. To the north it is bordered by the Arctic and the Atlantic Oceans. On the south it is bordered by and the Mediterranean Sea, the Sea of Marmara and the Black Sea. The Prime Meridian, which is at 0o longitude, is crossing Europe through Greenwich in England.


We can divide Europe into 11 geographical units [in brackets is the approximate location]:


  • Scandinavian region (Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland)
  • British Isles (British Isles)
  • Atlantic area of France (Western France)
  • Central European Heritage Region (Denmark, Benelux (Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg), Germany, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia)
  • Alpine-Carpathian region (Alps, Carpathians)
  • Iberian Region (Pyrenean Peninsula, Balearic Islands)
  • Apennines (continental Italy excluding Alps)
  • Balkan Region (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Montenegro, Kosovo, and parts of Croatia, Greece, Italy (Trieste and Monfalcone), Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, and the geographical/political region of European Turkey)
  • East European Plain (between the Carpathians, Poland and the Ural Mountains Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, eastern part of Romania, Moldova, European part of Russia)
  • Crimean-Caucasus Region (Southern part of the East European Plain, region located at the border of Europe and Asia, situated between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea) - a large part belongs to Asia
  • Ural Region (Urals)

Politically and historically, Europe can be divided as:

  • Southeast Europe
  • Western Europe
  • Central Europe
  • Eastern Europe
  • Northern Europe
  • Southern Europe